HERA Organisation

Uses of the Past Proposal Assessment

The overall responsibility for the governance of the HERA JRP lies with the HERA JRP Board, whose membership is formed by one representative from each participating funding organisation. The HERA JRP Board will monitor the project selection process and the progress and knowledge transfer activities of the funded projects.

Proposal assessment is the responsibility of the international, independent Review Panel. The final funding decisions are made by the HERA JRP Board on the basis of the recommendations of the Review Panel. The members of the Review Panel are leading humanities scholars, appointed by the HERA JRP Board following suggestions from participating funding organisations. After the award of the grants, the Review Panel will also monitor the overall research progress of the HERA JRP and the funded projects.

Review Panel members must not be contacted by applicants. All questions about the selection should be directed to the Handling Agency (hera@nwo.nl).

Prof. Aronsson

Linnaeus University

Prof. Bernabé

Universidad Complutense de Madrid

Prof. Bertrand

Université Catholique de Louvain

Prof. Borowski

Jagiellonian University

Prof. Caglioti

Università di Napoli Federico II

Prof. Cooke

University of Leeds

Prof. Coolahan

National University of Ireland, Galway

Prof. Deneckere

University of Ghent

Prof. Ehmer

Universität Wien

Prof. Flacke

Deutsches Historisches Museum

Prof. Gudelj

University of Zagreb

Prof. Hingley

Durham University

Prof. Holý

Institute of History CAS

Prof. de Jong

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

Prof. Kuutma

University of Tartu

Prof. Lähdesmäki

University of Jyväskylä

Prof. N. Llewellyn

Former Head of Research, Tate

Prof. Loporcaro

University of Zurich

Prof. Martín

Universidad de Girona

Prof. Ohlmeyer

Trinity College Dublin

Prof. Pedro

Universidade de Aveiro

Prof. Porsdam

University of Copenhagen

Prof. Ríkharðsdóttir

University of Iceland

Prof. Ruin

Södertörn University

Prof. Ščerbinskis

Latvian National Library

Prof. Seland

University of Bergen

Prof. Silbereisen

Center for Applied Developmental Science

Prof. Sugiera

Jagiellonian University

Prof. Sužiedėlis

Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Prof. Thorkildsen

University of Oslo

Prof. Tortarolo

Università del Piemonte Orientale

Prof. Urbanc

Research Centre of the Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts


NWO Humanities Division [http://www.nwo.nl/en/about-nwo/organisation/nwo-divisions/gw] will act as the Handling Agency for the HERA JRP call management and selection process.

List of HERA Network & Management team members (no emails)

National Contact Points and emails available here

Network Board (NB) 
Each partner has a representative on the Network Board. Professor Sean Ryder, member of the Irish Research Council, was elected chair of the Network Board for a three-year term (2010-12) at the network meeting in Berlin on 13 December 2009. Professor Ryder's term as chair was renewed for a further three years (2013-16) at the network meeting in Dublin on 12 December 2012.

The responsibilities of the Network Board include:

  • Decisions on internal HERA operations;

  • Responsibility for budgetary management;

  • Approval of documents, results and approaches related to HERA activities;

  • Prepare advice on scientific issues for HERA members; and

  • Review objectives and milestones.

Management Team (MT)
The Management Team consist of one representative (at director level) from each national funding agency. The Management Team meets twice a year in conjunction with the Network Board meetings.

The responsibilities of the Management Team include:

  • Network management decisions;

  • Implementation of network objectives; and

  • Dissemination and information of HERA activities.

The HERA Network Coordinator is Ms. Lucy Parnall, Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC).

The responsibilities of the coordinator include:

  • Coordination of network activities;

  • Providing support for the Network Board;
  • Preparing Network Board and Management Team meetings;
  • Internal network communication;
  • Day-to-day management of the network;
  • Financial management of the network including distribution of funds;
  • Drafting management reports;
  • Drafting final report and financial statements; and
  • Organisation Chart.